NaNoWriMo, Twitter and Being an Extroverted Writer

So much of successful writing requires you to go off alone and play, intensely and vigorously with imaginary people. You must, from nothing but your own imagination, create vivid and complete people from your imagination. Then, from that same imagination you also must create a scenario for them not only to fail repeatedly in, but one that will temper who they are and make them someone greater in the end. All this in hopes that (at least for me) by sharing it out with the world in a finished and polished format that I can connect with people.

Because while the act of writing and habit of creation is a solo and internal process, I am not an individual who does well as a solo and internal human.

Myke Cole, a new writer I discovered at DragonCon this year, said it best in a panel: It’s hard to be an extrovert and a writer.

Y’all, I don’t even read military fantasy and I bought a copy of his Gemini Cell on the way home from Atlanta to read in the car.*

With my gripes about being a person who doesn’t like to sit alone and only talk at herself, I have come up with coping methods.

First, there is Twitter. Twitter is short and not too involved so I can chirp out something here and there at people using writing tags and not feel like I’m being a nuisance! Then, we have the writers community over at Ally Bishop’s Cerulean Project who are a daily inspiration to keeping my habits on check.

But the biggest and most community oriented writing event of the year is coming up: National Novel Writing Month.

Now, if you’re a long time follower of the blog, you’re aware of my very constant problems with completing NaNoWriMo. I have yet to ever start and finish a story within a 50,000 word limit and most of that was purely because I couldn’t habitially write daily. I tried to work on that A LOT last year by making myself do streaks. I even managed, for a few months, to keep up a 100 day streak before I went on vacation to Mexico. I have yet to top that many days of solid writing but hey, I’m back on the horse and knowing it can be done is just as empowering as anything else.

NaNoWriMo is such a great season of the year for any writer. Because suddenly, people who might never have thought of themselves as writers, people who might be like me and dread the thought of sitting alone in a room for hours just to talk to themselves, have others around who are on a cheer leading wagon of support and encouragement.

That’s precious beyond measure.

If you’re planning on joining over there, feel free to add me as a writing buddy. I’m dracoangelica over on the NaNoWriMo site. (Click Here for short link) Leave a comment below with your buddy name and I’ll add you back.

I am a rebel this year and as I already have a project that I’d like to try and finish, I’m taking NaNoWriMo as a time to concentrate and add on to what I already have. It’s almost the end of the year and I haven’t quite hit my new years resolution to FINISH a novel length project yet and I feel like this could be the year that I do it if I just keep pushing.

So join in! I look forward to seeing what everyone achieves.

 

*he’s a really cool dude in person by the way and his book has some damn good tension. I’m about to become a fangirl, I can tell

Leave a Reply

