1000 Days to Master-hood

So, this week while pecking away at the rag-bag of quilt pieces that is pretending to be my manuscript, I decided, much out of the blue, that next year I did NOT want to do this anymore.

Oh, I’ll still be writing, but next year I want a break from Novelling.

Plus, I’m sure that I’ll still have a lot to edit on this project next year. So. What to do? I’m looking at another 9 months of pushing this baby novel down the hill and hoping I roll it into a readable shape by then. (To all my veteran authors who can poop out a clean first draft on their first 90 days, I both hate you and want to come live in your pocket, ok.)

Anyway, I’m going to take on the Ray Bradbury Challenge this year AND start on the 52 short stories in 52 weeks in 2017.

(But April, It’s still March. Isn’t it a little early to come up with a New Years Resolution?)

Well parenthesized reader, this is true, it is early. But part of my growth as a writer has been to begin outlining a project before I start it and 52 plots are a lot of work. So I’ve been pre-planning this year between poking my book forward.

ALSO, the reason this is relevant now instead of later is that I’m also going to be doing the 1000 Short Story, Poems and Essay Challenge in a public way to continue improving my brain for future scribbling.

I’ve been trying to figure out the best method to talk about these things and for now, I’m going to put out blog posts on different works that I like a lot, however with Periscope being a new medium in the world, I’m also probably going to schedule some of those as well because I think it’ll be faster.

I’m working on creating a page that will be a current documentation of my progress. Right now I’m working my way through the following:
Poems.com has a daily poem on their website, so I’ll be just reading that daily.

Essays are currently coming from The Book of My Lives by Aleksandar Hemon

Short stories are coming from A Manuel for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin

On Day 1 I read “Carousel” by Zachary Schomburg as my poem, Essay was Hemon’s “The Story of Others” and my short story was “Angel’s Laundromat” by Berlin.

Leave a Reply

