The innate Boringness of Progress

Welcome back dear readers. I am so grateful for the thirty of you that check this space out whenever they are in line at the grocery store or procrastinating on their own projects. I had a great vacation and have managed for the last five days to get back in the writing chair and put time in on my current work in progress, code name Wisteria Wolf.

I was thinking today about how boring it is to talk about writing. Then I saw this great post by Ingrid Rojas Contreras. I had to rethink the statement.

Contreras eloquently and accurately sums up all of my stress on this subject.

Essentially this blog is a record of my path. It’s a record of the falls and the rises. It’s my logging each little typity-writer-step towards completion on my first manuscript and hopefully will become a great place to talk to those who have supported me, a tool to speak to future readers and encourage those who are trying this with me.

But despite my fascination with talking about writing, it still puts people off.

Go ahead. Try it. When someone asks you how your morning went, say, “Oh today was great because I got 500 words added to my novel.”

The first time they’ll say enthusiastically, “Fantastic! I want to write a novel!”

Now. Do it again.
And again.
And again.
The only people who will be excited about this with you are going to be the other writers in your tags on Twitter. Everyone else will give you a little nod and move on with their day.

I don’t blame people for this btw. One, because they haven’t read My Most Excellent Book In Progres, they don’t have the emotion investment and Two, because reading is often a solitary activity. Which writing is as well while talking is communal and most groups would rather be entertained by the random facts you unearthed while researching your book than the book itself.

This was proven in the completely scientific atmosphere of Carnival Cruise ship hottubs last week.

See, we sit in rooms by ourselves and we just talk. We tell ourselves stories and we tweak them. It’s long. It’s tedious and often we don’t really verbalize why we do this.

In other words we’re practicing when we write.

When you go to a sports events it’s exciting because you get to see your favorite athletes preform skills you don’t have. But no one is selling tickets to practices. No one wants to follow a basketball player around while he spends three hours on cardio or two hours doing push ups or bouncing a ball. No one wants to wake up at 4am to see a world renowned gymnast get up, get ready and stretch so that she can put in 6 hours of hard practice. We don’t want to sit as she falls, look over her shoulder while she bandages the blisters or see her broken toenails.

(well…some ppl do and that’s why we have instagram)

We want to see finished things. We don’t want to sit with you while you erase forty sketch lines of someone’s arm. We don’t want to sneeze with you as you knit twenty rows wrong and unravel them to retry.

We want the book.

We want the game.

We want the performance.

We want the painting.

We want the sweater.

So fellow writers, if people’s eyes glaze when you tell them about the internal motivations of your main protagonist and how excited you are about that unwitting amputation in chapter 16, that’s ok. Those are people who don’t want to see the practice. I do though. Tweet me or leave a comment and we can reminisce about those stupid plots together.

Leave a Reply

