Writing Parties

It’s very difficult to quantify writing in a regular way. Often, writers are completely solitary creatures who lock themselves in corners so that they can hear the imaginary people in their heads easier. Yet that can get really lonely and very frustrating. Especially when the people in your head are NOT playing nice with one another and are ignoring you to do their own thing except they aren’t telling you what that thing is.

Then it’s wonderful to have a friend to talk to who is also familiar with the frustration of imaginary people going about their lives. So, as is often known, so was born the Writing Party.

I am blessed that some of my two best friends are writers, trying just like myself to get some work done. Of course, I’ve already interviewed the fantastic Elizabeth Belyeu on my blog before and I enjoyed this weekend as she plodded her way through the first draft of her current work-in-progress, a sequel for the very excellent Secondhand Shadow.

My other very dear friend Aimee is working on her own book. She and I are in the “I’ve been writing a book forever but haven’t finished it” club.

Still, it’s handy to have people around you who understand the struggle and work to keep writing no matter how hard the words are to put on the page.

Leave a Reply

