NaNoWriMo Update 1: Meet and Greet

Last night I, along with several other local writers met at Java Werks, a local coffee shop and got ready for this year’s NaNoWriMo.

If you have anyone near you in meat space who is participating in NaNoWriMo, this community is a fantastic way to get ready for next month’s challenge.

While we were all situating ourselves at the coffee shop I was struck by how different we all were. We had entrepreneurs, single mothers, retail workers, academics, as well as writers representing the medical field. It’s amazing how writing will bring such fascinating and driven people together.

I heard about Horror novels, a few YA novels, a graphics novel as well as rebels who are trying to finish short stories and extended school assignments. This year is going to be different for me. I’ve got a plan, I’ve got a group and I’ve got gumption (and alliteration.)

I’m stoked for the NaNo! It’s not too late to join!

 

Leave a Reply

